Finding Books
Get It Now & ILLiad
In a search results list look for a full text link to either a PDF or HTML of any document you want to view or save.
If there is no direct link look for a red “Get it @BU" lozenge.  Try looking in Google Scholar next but if that doesn’t work you may submit a request using either “Get It Now” or ILLiad whichever is available.
Get It Now sends the article to your Bradley email address within a very few minutes.
ILLiad needs you to create or login to your account and sends the request to the Interlibrary Loan Dept. where they find the article and send it to your ILLiad account.
If there is no other way to obtain it, the Library will purchase the article (no cost to you) and email it to your Bradley Email address.
Communication-related Databases
  • AdForum Creative Library Restricted Resource
    AdForum.com gathers information on 20,000 agencies and 120,000 campaigns (TV, print, interactive, etc.).
  • Market Share Reporter Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Annual compilation of reported market share data on selected companies, products, and services.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Contents include 2 databases in communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
  • MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
    1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
  • CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
    CQ Researcher reports offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy 1991+. Maximum 5 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy
  • I would encourage you to do your search in Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
    A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 13, 200 publications including peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.   1887+ also. It indexes almost 14,000 academic journals.
Comm & Mass Media Complete Handout
Need a refresher on how to search Comm & Mass media Complete?  Find it here!

Communication & Mass Media Complete handout
Reference Books
  • All-In-One Directory. REF.P88.8. G4 This directory gives names, addresses, and phone numbers for selected periodicals, news syndicates, newspapers, television , cable, and radio networks and stations. Communication Yearbook. P87 .C5974 (circulating stacks) An annual publication of the International Communication Association with essays on current topics in communication from a behavioral science perspective.
  • Directory of Women's Media. Ref. P96 .W6 M4a Entries include periodicals, publishers, radio/TV, etc. Also has indexes of individuals and state and country institutions.
  • Encyclopedia of Television, Cable & Video. Ref. P87.5 .R44 1991 This is a subject-specific encyclopedia including brief essays on a variety of subjects related to the field of communications.
  • Mass Media: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Television, Radio, Motion Pictures, Magazines, Newspapers, and Books in the United States. Ref. P92.U5 H77 1987 Brief annotated entries document the origins of key media happenings. These can be as diverse as the release of a motion picture or the opening of a journalism school.
  • Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications. Ref. P87.5.W45 A dictionary of communications terms and acronyms.