Article Databases
  • BioOne Restricted Resource
    Over 130 full-text bioscience journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Date range varies.
  • Scopus Restricted Resource
    1966+ A multidisciplinary journal index of over 14,000 peer reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine, and social science. It provides cited reference searching from 1996 to the present. It allows searching by authors' affiliation.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    Archive of scholarly journals. Most titles have 3-5 years moving wall, i.e., most recent 3-5 years not available.
  • Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
    A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 13, 200 publications including peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.   1887+
Recommended Internet Resources
  • How to Read a Scientific Paper Unrestricted Resource
    Don't quite understand the structure or information presented in a scientific paper? The American Society of Plant Biologist has made up this short guide on how to dissect and understand scientific papers.
  • Cells Alive! Unrestricted Resource
    Cell Biology animations.
  • Microbeworld Unrestricted Resource
    Through the American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
  • Human Genome Project Unrestricted Resource
    Genome programs of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.
  • EurekAlert! Unrestricted Resource
    EurekAlert! is an online, global news service operated by AAAS, the American Association for the Advancement of Science . EurekAlert! provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media.
  • Science Daily Unrestricted Resource
    A popular and award-winning science news site which begun in 1995.
  • National Science Foundation--Biological Sciences Unrestricted Resource
Finding Biology Books
Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
Use this catalog to search for books, videos and other materials from the Bradley Library and other I-Share libraries.
     Bradley's library uses the Library of Congress classification system.  All natural sciences are in the Q's.  
Q1-295 General Science
QD - Chemistry
1-65........................General
71-142....................Analytical chemistry
146-197.....................Inorganic chemistry
241-441.....................Organic chemistry
QH - Natural History and Biology
1-199.5......................General (incl. conservation)
201-278.5..................Microscopy
301.705.....................Biology
359-425.....................Evolution
426-470.....................Genetics
540-559.....................Ecology
573-671.....................Cytology
QK - Botany
1-474.5......................General
474.8-495..................Spermatophyta
504-638.....................Cryptograms
640-707.....................Plant anatomy
710-899.....................Plant physiology
900-989.....................Plant ecology
QL - Zoology 
1-355........................General
362-599-82................Invertebrates
605-739.3..................Vertebrates
750-795.....................Animal behavior
799...........................Morphology
801-950.9..................Anatomy
951-991.....................Embryology
QM - Human Anatomy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology
1-74..........................General
75-99.5......................Bacteria
180-189.5..................Immunology
355-502.....................Virology
Related fields not in the Q's
GE - Environmental Science
S - Agriculture
Your Subject Librarian
Megan Jaskowiak
Science/Health Sciences Librarian
Email:mjaskowiak@bradley.edu
Phone:309-677-2838
Skype:Bradleyhealthsciencelibrarian