Article Databases
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
    The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals with access to the top nursing and allied health journals. Includes full text for more than 1,300 journal titles with indexing for more than 5,000 journal titles. Covers more than 50 nursing specialties, speech language pathology, and nutrition. Also contains continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.
  • Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource
    provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and allied health literature. It covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more
  • PubMed @ Bradley Unrestricted Resource
    The BU version of PubMed has links to BU's online journals.
  • Cochrane Library Unrestricted Resource
    The Cochrane Library provides "high quality evidence for health care decision making" using criteria for conducting its systematic reviews. Within Cochrane Library, there are six databases containing evidence or reviews of healthcare and health policy: 
Finding Books
Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
Use this catalog to search for books, videos and other materials from the Bradley Library and other I-Share libraries.
Bradley's library uses the Library of Congress classification system.  All books that cover medicine are in the R's and nursing books specifically are in the RT's.  Below is a breakdown of where different specialities are located withing this classification system: 
RT23 Communication in Nursing (also: RT86)
RT24 Nursing Authorship
RT31 History of Nursing
RT41 Medical Surgical Nursing
RT42 General nursing topics, includes basic nursing texts, Nursing Interventions Classification
RT48 Nursing Assessment / Nursing Diagnosis
RT50.5 Nursing Informatics
RT73-79 Nursing Schools
RT81.5 Nursing Research
RT82.8 Nurse Practitioners
RT84.5 Nursing Theory, Nursing Models
RT85 Nursing Ethics
RT85.5 Nursing Standards includes Nursing Outcomes Classification
RT86.54 Transcultural nursing
RT89 Nursing Administration
RT97-98 Community Health Nursing / Public Health Nursing
RT120.C45 Chronic Disease Nursing
RT120.E4 Emergency Nursing
RT120.F34 Family Nursing
RT120.H65 Home Nursing, Visiting Nurses
RT120.I5 Intensive Care Nursing
RT120.R4 Rehabilitation Nursing
Areas Related to Nursing
R121 Medical dictionaries
R726.8 Hospice care
R858-859.7 Medical informatics
RB37 Diagnostic and laboratory tests
RB115 Nomenclature (procedural coding - CPT, ICD9)
RC69-71 Diagnosis
RC86.7 Emergency medicine
RC266 Oncology nursing
RC952-954.6 Geriatrics
RD93-98 Wound care
RD753 Orthopedic nursing
RG951 Maternal child nursing / Obstetrical nursing
RJ245 Pediatric nursing
RM216 Nutrition and diet therapy
RM301.12 Drug guides
Help with APA
  • APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue OWL Unrestricted Resource
    This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult thePublication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
  • APA Style (from American Psychological Association) Unrestricted Resource
    Help with APA style from the publishers of the book, American Psychological Association.  It includes tutorials which can be found under the learning APA style tab, and quick answers to questions on formatting.
  • APA Style Blog. Searchable blog on APA.  Great place to look for specific questions about APA.
Other Databases
Available through Bradley's Library: Free Databases:
  • Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)
    Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality review all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics to produce evidence reports and technology assessments. The reports are about clinical, health care service, and technical topics.
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    A resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the America’s Health Insurance Plans [AHIP].
Your Subject Librarian
Megan Jaskowiak
Science/Health Sciences Librarian
Email:mjaskowiak@bradley.edu
Phone:309-677-2838
Skype:Bradleyhealthsciencelibrarian
FALL 2016 Skype Hours (all times are in CST):
Tuesday          5-7 PM
Wednesday    10-11 AM
                      4-6 PM
If these times do not work, feel free to email me to schedule something different.
Nursing Videos