What Is a Peer-Reviewed Article?
​What is a peer-reviewed article?  How do you find one?  Watch this 3 minute introduction on Peer Review from North Carolina State University Libraries to find out more.
Harder-to-Find Dietetics & Nutrition Journals
Other Journals by Title (Journals A-Z)
Need to look for a journal by title that isn't listed above or at right?  Click the link and enter your journal name, then click 'Go' to find it:

http://sfx.carli.illinois.edu/sfxbra/az
Google Scholar: Useful ONLY When You Can't Find Full-text in a Database
How To Videos for Searching Google Scholar
Basic Searching in Google Scholar
https://youtu.be/fNkY44u-Sv8
 
Known Citation Searching in Google Scholar
how to search Google Scholar when you have a Citation in hand.
https://youtu.be/1eg-c9Ob03c
 
Get It Via Google Scholar from Article Database
https://youtu.be/xeJerPuae_0
 
Using the Advanced Features in Google Scholar Pt1
https://youtu.be/eLA9Q-kpI28
 
Best Databases for Dietetics and Nutrition
Great databases for Dietetics / Nutrition:

Ebscohost Academic Search Complete
Contains many top dietetics journals, including Applied Physiology, Nutrition, & Metabolism; Food & Nutrition Research; International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition & Physical Activity; International Journal of Obesity; Journal of Nutrition & Metabolism; Journal of Nutrition Education & Behavior; Maternal & Child Nutrition; Nutrition Journal; Nutrition & Metabolism; Nutritional Neuroscience; and Pediatric Obesity.

Ebscohost Consumer Health Complete
Lots of great dietetics journals here, including Journal of Human Nutrition & Dietetics; Annual Review of Nutrition (though 2004-2005 only); European Journal of Clinical Nutrition; European Journal of Nutrition; and Nutrition and Cancer.

PubMed @ Bradley
PubMed's full-text arm, PubMedCentral, links to excellent dietetics & nutrition journals, including the International Journal of Obesity; International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition & Physical Activity; Advances in Nutrition; Nutrition Journal; Nutrition & Metabolism; Food & Nutrition Research; Journal of Nutrition & Metabolism; and Journal of Biochemistry & Nutrition; 

Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online contains multiple dietetics journals.  Among the best are Journal of Human Nutrition & Dietetics; Nutrition Reviews; Obesity; Pediatric Obesity; Maternal & Child Nutrition; Journal of the Science of Food & Agriculture; Journal of Food Science; and many more.

Supplementary databases for Dietetics / Nutrition:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Aimed at nurses and other health care professionals.  There's a wealth of full-text here on interventions in health care, some of which cover nutrition and diet.

Cochrane Library
Provides information on the effects of interventions in health care.  Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.  It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Register), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).

Sport DISCUS
International database chiefly aimed at sports literature and the like, but can offer some resources particularly on sports nutrition.
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan for Articles
You can use ILLIAD to request the full text of an article when you can't get it from a database you've searched or Google Scholar. This is a video tutorial on how to use ILLIAD.
I'm Here to Help! Your Librarian
Recommended Dietetics & Nutrition Websites
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
World's largest organization of dietetics and nutrition professionals and the source for ACEND, the accrediting body for undergraduate and graduate dietetics programs.

Children's Nutrition Research Center
A collaboration between the Baylor University College of Medicine and the USDA, this site offers nutrition & energy calculators and a nutritional newsletter aimed at bettering children's nutrition.

choosemyplate.gov
Consumer-based information from the USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion.  Includes interactive tools, such as SuperTracker (for tracking foods eaten) and a BMI calculator.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Dietary guidelines for Americans that are published every 5 years by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion for health professionals.

Dietitians and Nutritionists, Occupational Outlook Handbook
Facts from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics on the job outlook, median pay, educational requirements, etc. for dietitians and nutritionists in the US.

Nutrition - Centers for Disease Control
CDC nutrition efforts support public health strategies and programs that improve dietary quality, support healthy child development, and reduce chronic disease.

Office of Dietary Supplements from the National Institutes of Health
Aims to strengthen knowledge & understanding of dietary supplements.  Includes a dictionary of supplements, fact sheets for supplements, videos, and more.

USDA Food Composition Databases
Search portal for the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the USDA Branded Food Products Database.
Finding Books & Other Physical Resources
Video Tutorial: How to Use the Library Catalog