Bradley Library Article Databases
 
  • SciFinder Restricted Resource Some full text available
    User registration is required. First-time users please use your BU email to register at https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=4BBB86B9-86F3-50AB-6682-44E8E802CFEB. One simultaneous user only. Please try later if busy. Use is limited to academic research by Bradley students, faculty, and staff only.
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
     Electronic journals from American Chemical Society.
  • Scopus Restricted Resource
    1966+ A multidisciplinary journal index of over 14,000 peer reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine, and social science. It provides cited reference searching from 1996 to the present. It allows searching by authors' affiliation.
  • Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
    A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 13, 200 publications including peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.   1887+
Open Access Databases and Other Websites
BRENDA (BRaunschweig ENzyme DAtabase)- has molecular and biochemical information on enzymes that have been classified by the IUBMB.
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties
ChemSpider- a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 57 million structures from hundreds of data sources
eMolecules- search engine for chemical molecules, contains over 7 million unique molecules from chemical suppliers and all of entries from NIST, PubChem, and DrugBank
PubChem- three linked databases from the National Library of Medicine; PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds- hosted by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology of Japan, and contains extensive spectroscopic data for organic compounds including infrared and NMR spectroscopy and mass spectrometry
Symmetry@Otterbein- has tools to help students learn the concepts of molecular symmetry.
Finding Chemistry Books
Bradley's library uses the Library of Congress classification system.  All natural sciences are in the Q's.  
QD-Chemistry
1-65      - General Works
71-142   - Analytical chemistry
146-197 - Inorganic chemistry
241-449 - Organic chemistry
450-899 - Physical and theoretical chemistry
901-999 - Crystallography​
Related fields not in the QD's
QA - Mathematics
QC - Physics
QC 172-173 - Constitution and properties of matter
QC 310-319 - Thermodynamics
​QC 450-467 – Spectroscopy
QC 762-763 - NMR, EPR
QE - Earth Sciences, including Geochemistry
QH - Biology 
QP 501-801 - Biochemistry
RS - Pharmacy, medicinal chemistry
T 174.7 - Nanotechnology 
TA 455 - Materials (non-metallic)
TD 193 - Environmental chemistry
TP - Chemical Technology (includes engineering)
TS - Manufactures 
TX - Food Science, Nutrition