Article Databases
Health Source-Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
 provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books and covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 13, 200 publications including peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.   1887+
SPORT Discus Restricted Resource
1949+. International index of sports literature. Maximum 4 simultaneous users. Please try later if busy.
PubMed @ Bradley Unrestricted Resource
The BU version of PubMed has links to BU's online journals.
Reading and Writing in the Sciences
  • How to Read a Scientific Paper Unrestricted Resource
    Don't quite understand the structure or information presented in a scientific paper? The American Society of Plant Biologist has made up this short guide on how to dissect and understand scientific papers.
Your Subject Librarian
Megan Jaskowiak
Science/Health Sciences Librarian
Email:mjaskowiak@bradley.edu
Phone:309-677-2838
Skype:Bradleyhealthsciencelibrarian
Governmental Websites
  • Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA National Agricultural Library) provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. This page provides current information on governmental food and drug policies.
  • USDA Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decision making on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture provides information food and nutrition programs sponsored by the government as well as their research.
  • USDA National Nutrient Database Find nutrient information on nearly 8,000 foods. You can search by food item, group, or list to find the nutrient information for your food items.